This and That

I’ve moved to a free blog, since I haven’t been blogging much.  The pricey upkeep for my own domain and all that goes with it just wasn’t worth the cost anymore.  I do hope to start blogging more, especially since we’ve moved even further from family.  I’m guessing the old blog will deconstruct sometime before the beginning of November, so I’ve been trying to make sure everything is saved.  I’m not sure about setting up the “theme,” yet.  I’ll have to work on it on a duty night, so sorry for the dust!  :)

Lots has been going on.  Most of it I’ve posted about on Facebook, so it’s old news…. but here’s a quick rundown.

July:
-We got a puppy!  He’s a quick learner and a great addition to our family.  Also, I’m pretty sure I’m allergic to him.  :(  I’m really hoping it’s just seasonal, and not the puppy.  Going in for testing this week.  Cross your fingers for me!  I’d hate to be stuck on allergy meds full time.
-John was selected for Chief, which rocked our world.  We were/are crazy proud of him, but the 7 weeks of induction was hard on all of us.  I complained.  A lot.  I’m not sure how I still have any remaining friends.  :D

August:
We moved!  We finally got in to a house and out of the scary townhouse we were renting while we waited.  Hopefully we’ll never have to go through a transition period like that again.  There were some good points (cheap!!, close to downtown) ….. but mostly we were just glad to get out of there!

September:
-The kids started school!  Kayleigh is in fourth grade this year and really likes her teacher (and lack of homework).  Ethan is in second, and finally taking a liking to reading.  Norah started pre-school and she thinks it’s the bee’s knees.  She had her sharing day last Friday and was totally jazzed to bring in her unicorn from Grandma Ellen.
-John was pinned Chief!  FI-NA-LY!  Like I said, It was a long 7 weeks!  It was an amazing ceremony and was followed the next night by a fun party called the “Khaki Ball.”  We were able to get dressed up and spend a few hours without the kidlets as grown-ups!
-I turned 31!  …and we camped – sort of!  I know I say it every year, but it was probably my favorite birthday ever.  :)

October:
-We’re only half way through the month, but it’s been so busy.  We’ve had lots of school and Navy events (including another ball – the Navy’s Birthday Ball) last night.  It’s like life has finally kicked in, and we’re living like we reside here all of the sudden…. not just passing through.

The days of sun and warmth are already a thing of the past, and the rainy season is giving us a preview.  We’re lucky in that we still have some sun peeking through on and off every day, but from what I hear, very soon we will see the last bit of sun until summer.  I’m trying not to think about it!  :)

So that is what we’ve been up to.  I’ll try to post more frequently and update with better pictures.  I’ve been trying to make an effort to pick up my real camera more and more again.  It is so sad to see the small files for the past few months of pictures saved on the computer! Image

One thought on “This and That

  1. Well, I am glad for the updates on the blog since I don’t get to FB too often. : D I didn’t know you may be allergic to appa! THat stinks. : ( You looked super pretty for the Navy Ball!

Leave a Reply

